House of Comarré series by Kristen Painter

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These books read as one story and only make sense if they are read in order.

The final book in the series did not disappoint. Ms Painter brings the conclusion to the story beautifully.
What l liked about the series most is the way she writes, and how she creates a new world. By the time I finished House of Comarre, I managed to read all of her other books as well, and I loved them all.
I cannot say much about the content without giving spoilers, but I can say that I had a happy feeling when I finished reading the book and I was sad to part with Chrysabelle and Malkolm. At the moment I am enjoying the Crescent City trilogy, the spin off.
From the beginning of the first book Ms Painter slowly unravels the secrets of each of the characters and their world. There is no rush, she takes time to develop each of the characters in depth. Already by the end of the third book, all the characters are so well developed that they feel very real and you start feeling with them and anticipating their reactions. The world is so well thought of, with such attention to detail, that you feel like you’re there. This world continues in Crescent city, it feels like visiting a place you’ve visited before.
Ms Painter’s characters are not perfect, they make mistakes, but they are strong and heroic. Her villains are true villains. However, there are some unexpected secrets kept by some of her characters and some unexpected changing sides.
The only negative criticism I have is related to the short description on the back of the book. I did not like it and I don’t feel like it described the book justly. However, the covers make up for it and I chose paperback for that reason. These are probably the most beautiful book covers i have ever seen.
I would highly recommend this series. The reading order of House of Comarré series is: Blood Rights (Book 1), Flesh and Blood (2), Bad Blood (Book 3), Out for Blood (Book 4), Last Blood (Book 5 – cover featured above), and Forbidden Blood (prequel) – A spin off series Crescent City takes place after the House of Comarré events. The reading order is: House of the Rising Sun (Book 1), City of Eternal Night (Book 2), and Garden of Dreams and Desires (Book 3) –


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s