Nocturne Falls series by Kristen Painter – books 2 to 6

The Werewolf Meets His Match (Nocturne Falls #2) by Kristen Painter

This is the second Nocturne Falls story and it is just beautiful. The story revolves around two wolf shifter people stuck in a situation beyond their control, and making the best of it. What I liked best about this book is that both characters are strong, intelligent and reasonable, which is like a signature thing for Kristin Painter. The plot is very interesting, very surprising in some places, and it is a real plot and not a story based on bad choices, which is also a common characteristic of Painter’s writing. It is very well written and it flows beautifully, I think it took me about 3 hours to read the book and it left me with a smile on my face. As usual, the supporting characters are very well developed. Nocturne falls is just a beautiful place that is so well described, it makes me feel like it is real and the story really took me there. In this book, as well as the first one, I felt sometimes like I am walking down the street in nocturne Falls or running through the woods or standing in front of a house. This series is lighter than other works by Kristen Painter and it is not a huge problem if you read it in wrong order. I definitely recommend it for the story, characters, atmosphere and mood improving quality. I am very much looking forward to more books. Hopefully, a lot more.

The Gargoyle Gets His Girl (Nocturne Falls #3) by Kristen Painter

Gargoyle Gets His Girl is the third book in the Nocturne Falls series. It was especially interesting for me because I have not read much about gargoyles and fairies in the past and this was a new adventure for me. As most of Kristen Painter’s books, this one is a beautiful and warm love story. It is about new beginnings and dealing with the past issues. Again we have a strong likeable hero and a strong likeable heroine. To be honest, if they were any different I would not be interested in reading the book. I love the flow of the story and I love the good positive and happy ending, as I have come to expect from Kristen Painter. Her books make me feel good and this one is not an exception. Don’t get me wrong, there are some heavy moments in this book, and there are some serious villains but unlike in some books, problems happen before the actual end of the book and there is no clifhanger. I highly recommend this book, as I actually read it twice. I am very much looking forward to the sequel and I hope the series continues for a long time.

The Professor Woos The Witch (Nocturne Falls #4) by Kristen Painter

Another great book from Kristin Painter. At this point I am not surprised anymore, but highly anticipating the next book. After four books, I really feel like I can continue reading this series forever. And I feel like Nocturne Falls is a real place that I would love to visit, or maybe move there permanently. Pandora is a wonderful strong character who does not let life’s misfortunes stop her from enjoying life when life should be enjoyed. And Cole…. Ah… So far, this is my favourite hero from Nocturne Falls, and when you read the book, you will understand, anything further and I might give spoilers. But I have to say that every facet of Cole, physically and personality wise, is just perfect. Or maybe I am just partial to him because he is my type of guy. Anyway, moving on to the story, there are some side characters that we met before, and it was nice to meet them again. At some point I hope that most of them will get their own books. There is a villain which I loved to hate and a very nice twist. And last but not least, there is Kaley, a character you will fall in love with because she is just adorable. All in all, this might be my favourite so far in the series. I highly recommend the book and the whole series.

The Vampire’s Fake Fiancée (Nocturne Falls #5) by Kristen Painter

And finally we get to meet the elusive Evangeline and get a closer look at the Elingham family. This time the focus is Sebastian, very serious, grumpy person, who just grows on you. The main female character is Tessa, shy and slightly insecure Valkyrie librarian, who transforms into a person she was born to be. And Evangeline, of course, who is as bad as everyone expected. They are complete opposites and it is nice to see how the story unravels and questions get answered. We see a little bit of a lot of characters that we met before, which is very nice. It gives continuity to the story. It is also very nice to see how Nocturne Falls develops. I feel like I am walking the streets of Nocturne Falls with the characters and visit the shops, especially Delaney’s Delectables and Villa’s jewellery store. I highly recommend the book; I cannot wait for the next one. It could work as a standalone but then you miss the development of Nocturne Falls and the other characters.

The Shifter Romances The Writer (Nocturne Falls, #6) by Kristen Painter

Thank you Kristen Painter for this gem! It seems that my wish is coming true as I have already had an opportunity to read the sixth book and several short stories! This is a great book featuring a very hot and wonderful Officer Alex Cruz. He is just an epitome of male perfection. Our female protagonist Roxy St. James we already met in A Vampire’s Valentine Surprise, when she was visiting Delaney. Roxy has since moved to Nocturne Falls and away from her past life. he only other thing I would like to mention is that Roxy is a writer and some of the thoughts and processes seem oddly familiar, like Ms Painter wanted to pay homage to her fans. Thank you for that as well! the Book is wonderful and I highly recommend it. It can be read as standalone as well, but it is definitely better as a number 6 in the series when you already familiarise yourself with all the other characters and the world. From the first book, and this one is no exception, characters are well developed and the Nocturne falls is growing and evolving and becoming more real with each book.

The reading order is:

The Vampire’s Mail Order Bride (Nocturne Falls #1) – The Werewolf Meets His Match (Nocturne Falls #2) – The Gargoyle Gets His Girl (Nocturne Falls, #3) – The Professor Woos The Witch (Nocturne Falls, #4) – The Witch’s Halloween Hero (Nocturne Falls #4.5) in Spell of the Ball Anthology – The Werewolf’s Christmas Wish (Nocturne Falls #4.6) in Hex the Halls Anthology – The Vampire’s Fake Fiancée (Nocturne Falls #5) – A Vampire’s Valentine Surprise (Nocturne Falls #5.5) – The Shifter Romances The Writer (Nocturne Falls #6) – Miss Frost Solves A Cold Case : A Nocturne Falls Mystery (Jayne Frost #1) – Miss Frost Ices The Imp : A Nocturne Falls Mystery (Jayne Frost #2) – The Vampire’s True Love Trials (Nocturne Falls #6.5)

Leave a Reply

