Struck (Phoebe Meadows #1) by Amanda Carlson

Struck (Phoebe Meadows #1)

This is one incredible non-stop action roller coaster ride of a book. I loved it.
It was also a great start of a series which I hope will go on for a long while.
This was the first book I read from Amanda Carlson because it was recommended to me. I was only familiar with the short story set Sin City Collectors, which I liked a lot as well, and I was getting ready to start with Carlson’s Jessica McClain series. After this book, I will definitely read everything Amanda Carlson had published so far. Her writing style is easygoing but gripping and the characters are well developed.
The main female protagonist in Struck is Phoebe who sells shoes and lives a regular life, until she is struck by lightning and becomes the most wanted Valkyrie in the universe. She fights and overcomes obstacles. She is fierce and wonderful. She is consistent and smart. I really like Phoebe and can’t wait for the next book.
The main male character is Fenrir the wolf, son of Loki. It took me a while to warm up to him because he seemed a bit self centered, until he wasn’t any longer and I started liking him. He is a warrior, and a very sexy one. But the best part is that Fenrir did not take any of Phoebe’s attention away, she is still the main character and she is the centre of the story.
There are several very interesting supporting characters who are also very well developed and very important for the story but do not take away attention from Phoebe. They traverse worlds and fight monsters. The universe and characters are based on, or inspired by Nordic mythology, however it is not done in a overbearing way and it is easy to read and drown into. I drowned in this book and could not stop reading it until I was done. It was non-stop action roller coaster ride of a book and I highly recommend it.

More about Phoebe Meadows series  and Amanda Carlson is available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

