Amanda Carlson’s Jessica McClain series

First of all, I have to say that Jessica McClain is one of the best characters ever created. She is strong, smart and has powers like no other. I still need to finish the last two books, but I literally could not stop!

Here they are in order:

Blooded (Jessica McClain, #0.5) by Amanda Carlson

Here we meet Jessica while she is still living at the compound. I read this novella after the second book. I wanted to know Jessica a bit more before I knew her past.

It was amazing to see her as a teenager fighting for her life and her freedom. She was amazing and brave, and fearless.

Full Blooded (Jessica McClain, #1)  by Amanda Carlson

This is how my obsession started. I didn’t know about this series before I read Sin City and Phoebe Meadows. I liked Amanda Carlson’s writing so much that I decided to give it a try. And I was not disappointed. I am a huge fan of Kristen Painter, and if you are as well and you read all the books, this is the best possible course of action. Don’t get me wrong, the style, characters and stories are completely different, but the great writing and the fantastic heroines and supporting characters are all there. And villains, they are so mean, they really keep Jessica fully occupied.

This is the beginning of the change for Jessica, and that’s how the book starts. After the change is one giant roller coaster of non-stop action. It is all consuming, and with that I refer to my time, because I could not stop. the story draws you in and it doesn’t let you go. I managed to take a little break after the third book to write this.

Jessica is still new to her change and a bit clumsy but amazingly determined and a fighter to the end. We meet Rourke, I will not say anything else because you should experience ti for yourself. Then there is this irritating cop Ray. We meet her twin Tyler, and her dad Cullum, second in command James, enforcer Danny, and her friends and business partners Nick and Marcy. There are several of the villains introduced and they all get their own moment at some point. I am mentioning all of these, as they all develop throughout the story later on.

Hot Blooded (Jessica McClain, #2)  by Amanda Carlson

Second book continues exactly where the first one stops. There is no gap in the story and I love it. So unless you plan to stop reading the series, we can’t really talk about cliffhangers. However, I must have been frustrating reading the books when they were coming out one by one. Good news is that they are all out now and you can just keep on reading.

Jessica is getting a good grip on her powers in this book. Her character is developing as is the world. The supporting characters are all there and we get to know them better and love them. We also met some really interesting new characters Naomi and aunt Tully.

I have to warn you that there is violence and it is very adequately described. Jessica fights against all odds and it is amazing to read. There is so much action, it was mind blowing. This book was even better than the first one. At this point I decided to read the prequel.

Cold Blooded (Jessica McClain, #3)  by Amanda Carlson

After I read Blooded, the prequel, I was even more eager to continue! And again, we can disregard the cliffhanger from the previous book because again the story continues, exactly where it left off. I am not giving any spoilers but there is some heavily anticipated romance and some unlikely alliances. And I am starting to like Ray a lot. He seems to me almost like a male version of Jessica, only more hotheaded. He is equally brave and fearless and never gives up. And there is Naomi, so sweet, loyal and ruthless when necessary. It feels like Jessica is spontaneously building her own pack of all kinds of supernatural creatures.

What I like most about this series so far, apart from Jessica of course, is the continuity. The story continues seamlessly from one book to the next, even the prequel. It almost feels like the prequel is the introduction and the rest of the books are the chapters in the story.

After finishing the third book and the novella, I won’t even pretend that you can read just one. You will get hooked, I promise. It is the sheer power of will that I am not reading the next now. I did get the last two books as soon as I finished this one, just like I got the second and third book and the novella, way before I finished the first book. I can’t wait to see what happens next, but I am also dreading the end. I don’t want to say goodbye to Jessica.

Red Blooded (Jessica McClain, #4)  by Amanda Carlson

I have just finished this book. It took me a while and I have slightly mixed feelings. It happened before with some other of my favourite series, there is just one book somewhere in the middle that was not as great as the others. Don’t get me wrong, it is still brilliantly written and very consistent, which is the most important for me. It is just that moment in main character’s development, where they think they know it all but they don’t and they end up in possibly avoidable situations. The author solved that problem brilliantly by the end of the book and I am once more hooked and cannot wait to read the next one. I am again sad that one of my favourite series is coming to an end as there are only two books left.

This book is not just about Jessica, it is about the group, her group, her little pack of mixed supernaturals. We see Ray, Rourke and Tyler and towards the end we see Naomi, Danny and Marcy. Of the other characters, Eudoxia graces us with her presence, and we meet Princess of Hell. Lily makes an impressive villain, so impressive that she makes Prince of Hell look like an amateur. Selina’s pathetic tries at establishing herself as the main villain, or any kind of villain for that matter, are quite entertaining.

This chapter starts with saving Tyler, but it develops into something much more complex, something that will have permanent impact on all supernaturals and the Fate itself. Hell indeed gets a new ruler and Jessica moves much closer to fulfilling her destiny. Again, I have to mention how brilliantly Carlson wove this story. In the end there is a little break from fighting and escaping, as things in the Underworld are somewhat in place, but Jessica’s absence was felt in her part of the world. Carlson makes a perfect set up for the next book. There is also a phone call towards the end of the book which results in a stunning revelation about one of the side characters. I immediately started the next book and I cannot wait to see where it goes.

Pure Blooded (Jessica McClain, #5)  by Amanda Carlson

This book was fabulous! And also the first one containing two chapters. The first one is extremely tense, mystical fighting and a lot of interesting new creatures. The second chapter or second part of the book deals with surviving in order to be able to be fulfill her destiny. There is a lot of learning about history and legends, and a lot of running.

Naturally, we have two villains in this book, the first one being difficult but not as nearly as difficult as the villains in the underworld. The second one is an ancient being and very powerful and very much after Jessica. Ray is still one of my favourite characters as is Naomi. This book was a constant roller coaster of emotions and I loved it. I cannot wait to read the last book to see what happens next and how it ends.

Blue Blooded (Jessica McClain, #6)  by Amanda Carlson

What a fantastic ending to a fantastic series!
This is the final epilogue chapter and it blew my mind. It is full of surprises and although Jessica’s story is finished for now, the author left some paths opened for continuation in Jessica’s world. I cannot wait to see what happens next.

Although this book contained barely any fighting in comparison with the previous books in the series, it was even more intense and unexpected. Carlson thought of everything and everyone. Each one of the characters develops to their full potential and complexity. Ray and Naomi remain my favourites, as well as Eudoxia. Jessica is by far one of the best female main characters ever written. And brilliant care and effort to develop almost every side character in the story is amazing.

As I already stated, the author gave a hint that this is not the end of Jessica’s world and I eagerly await to see what she will explore next, the Coalition, Eudoxia’s world, Ajax, Ray, Selene, Underworld, Veil, The Fates, or something else. There is so much to explore and so many interesting characters to follow. I wholeheartedly recommend this series.

Jessica McClain on Goodreads 

Amanda Carlson on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

