The Half-Demon Rogue and Ruby Callaway by D.N. Erikson

 

Storm Pale (The Half-Demon Rogue #0)

I don’t even know where to start. Maybe I should start by saying what a great new author I have discovered! I accidentally found this author, I cannot even remember how, but I subscribed to the newsletter and this novel came with it. Then the next one and two more. After reading this novel, I immediately bought the rest of the books available from this author. Need I say more? I was blown away. And this is just a prequel.
The writing is superb, and I am not talking beautiful and flowy, I am talking raw and get under your skin intense, as is the main character Kalos. There are softer moments involving his companion Argos, a magical dog of unparalleled knowledge and gentle soul.
Both characters are complex and well developed, as is the world. Not at one point did I wonder where someone or something came from, all is explained and described in enough detail to leave you satisfied but not overwhelmed or bored. There are villains and violence, there is affection and romance, although the romance happens in the background and with a sole purpose to help us understand the main character, his struggles and trials.
Kalos is a very interesting character, as I mentioned above, raw and intense, and he is not immediately likable like Argos, but his persistence, endurance and clearly defined values force you to cheer for him and draw you in his story, so that you cannot stop until you reach the end, and then you still want more. That is how The Half-Demon Rogue trilogy ended up on my Kindle. I didn’t even bother buying books one by one, I wanted them all. But before the trilogy, there is a prequel to the Ruby Callaway trilogy, Bone Realm, in which this story continues.

Bone Realm (Ruby Callaway #0,5)

This was a great novel. It is actually a sequel to Storm Pale, prequel to The Half-Demon Rogue trilogy, and also a prequel to the Ruby Callaway trilogy. It sounds complicated but the author managed to seamlessly continue one character’s story, introduce the new character, briefly intertwine their stories, and continue with the new character. In other words, the story starts with Kalos, he meets Ruby, they share the story for a while, and then Ruby’s story continues. Since they both live in the same world, I cannot wait to see whether their stories further intertwine.
Just like with Storm Pale and immediate purchase of The Half-Demon Rogue trilogy, this story ended with me buying the first two Ruby Callaway books, and only because the third one is not available yet.
I was curious about the author, so when I subscribed to the newsletter, I received in total four novels so far, none of them available anywhere else. Silver Tempest and Kentucky Clear, two more Ruby Callaway stories, which I believe happen before the trilogy starts.
This particular story is immensely important as it explains Ruby’s origin, her development and evolution. I have started with the trilogy, and immediately went back to the prequels to get more information. The trilogy starts in the future and it reads so much better with all the additional information and character development. Without it, Ruby’s character loses in its complexity and the whole world building commences all over again. If you have an option, start at the beginning, with Storm Pale, Bone Realm, Silver Tempest and Kentucky Clear before you embark on The Half-Demon Rogue and Ruby Callaway trilogies.
Ruby is such an interesting character, as her potential is not immediately obvious, but she grows, learns, develops, and accepts herself. At the moment I am devouring the rest of the stories. I can’t wait to see where her story goes.

Silver Tempest (Ruby Callaway story)

Kentucky Clear (Ruby Callaway story)

Demon Rogue (The Half-Demon Rogue #1)

Blood Frost (The Half-Demon Rogue #2)

Moon Burn (The Half-Demon Rogue #3)

The Half-Demon Rogue Trilogy is also available as a set.

Lightning Blade (Ruby Callaway #1)

Shadow Flare (Ruby Callaway #2)

Blood River (Ruby Callaway #3)

Coming out soon.

Ruby Callaway Trilogy contains the first two books for now, but the author has announced a set after the last book is published.

 

More about The Half-Demon Rogue, Ruby Callaway and D.N.Erikson is available on Goodreads and the author’s website contains link for downloadof the free novel Bone Realm, as well as the link to the newsletter subscription, which gives you the rest of the stories.

Leave a Reply

